Site search provides quick access to publications on this site. Publications are also available through the publications link on the left menu.

  1.  Home
Contact Print this page Reduce font size Increase font size

Suburb Search

Full listings of all councils are found in the NSW Council Directory. Quick access tools to find the local council for a suburb/town or to find a council for a given specific address are also available online.

Local Council Boundaries

Far West RegionNorth Western RegionNorthern RegionRichmond-Tweed RegionMid North CoastHunter RegionCentral West RegionMurrumbidgee RegionMurray RegionSouth Eastern RegionIllawarra RegionSydney SurroundsInner SydneyOuter Sydney Map

Click on a Region to obtain a list of councils within the chosen region

Regional NameDescription
Central West (CW)In the centre of the region is the Bathurst-Orange area and to the east the Blue Mountains. The western area extends to the Lachlan river and the town of Condobolin. The region also contains the urban areas of Parkes, Forbes and Cowra.
Far West (FW)This vast region containing the unincorporated area of NSW is bounded by the Queensland and South Australian borders. Included is the City of Broken Hill and the Darling River passes through the region from the north-east to the south.
Hunter (HT)The Hunter Region contains the Hunter River and its tributaries with highland areas to the north and south. The Hunter Valley is one of the largest river valleys on the NSW coast.
Illawarra (IL)The Illawarra Region contains the urban areas of Wollongong and Nowra, and the Minnamurra and Shoalhaven river valleys. To the west of the coastal plain is a long escarpment that leads to very rugged terrain in the Shoalhaven area.
Murrumbidgee (MG)The region is traversed by the Murrumbidgee River and contains the Murrumbidgee and other irrigation areas. Wagga Wagga is the major urban centre in the region.
Murray (MR)The Murray River on the NSW border forms the southern boundary of the region. The terrain varies from flat in the western and central areas to very rugged on the eastern border. The main urban centre in the region is Albury.
Mid - North Coast (NC)The Mid-North Coast Region covers a coastal strip of NSW and includes the Manning, Hastings, Clarence and Macleay river valleys.
Northern (NR)The region contains the Northern Tablelands, the northern slopes to the west of the tablelands, and the north central plains.
North Western (NW)This large region contains diverse topography, with flat plains to the west, undulating slopes in the centre and elevated areas extending from the Central Tablelands in the east. The region includes the Bogan, Macquarie and Castlereagh river basins.
Richmond - Tweed (RT)The Richmond and Tweed coastal river basins and the Upper Clarence River valley dominate this region. To the west is the New England Plateau and to the north the McPherson Range.
South Eastern (SE)Comprises the far south coast of NSW, the southern tablelands and the Snowy Mountains. The region contains the Clyde, Moruya, Tuross and Bega river valleys.
Sydney Inner (SI)Inner Suburbs of Sydney
Sydney Outer (SO)Outer Suburbs of Sydney
Sydney Surrounds (SS)Areas around Sydney Metropolitan
Contact Print this page Reduce font size Increase font size