New South Wales State Government RYLSTONE SHIRE COUNCIL
About Us |  Submissions |  Public Hearings |  Reports
About the Rylstone Shire Council Public Inquiry
On 16th January 2004 the Minister for Local Government, the Hon Tony Kelly MLC, announced a formal public inquiry into Rylstone Shire Council.

The terms of reference of the Inquiry are:

“To inquire, report and provide recommendations to the Minister for Local Government on the efficiency and effectiveness of the governance of Rylstone Shire Council.

The Inquiry will have particular regard to:

1. Whether the elected representatives command the community’s confidence and support as to their capability, and whether the elected representatives have been and will continue to be in a position to direct and control the affairs of council in accordance with the Local Government Act 1993, so that council may fulfil the Charter, provisions and intent of the Local Government Act 1993 and otherwise fulfil its statutory functions.

2. Whether the council has exercised prudent financial management.

3. Council’s process of appointment and management of staff and particularly during the 2003 organisational restructure.

4. Any other matter that warrants mention, particularly where it may impact on the effective administration of the area and/or the working relationships between the Council, Councillors and its administration.

The Commissioner may make other recommendations as they see fit, including whether all civic offices in relation to the Council should be declared vacant so as to ensure that an appropriate structure can be put in place to provide optimum community leadership.”

On the recommendation of the Minister, the NSW Governor, Professor Marie Bashir AC, approved the appointment of Mrs Gabrielle Kibble AO as Commissioner to undertake the Inquiry. Mrs Kibble has been a non-executive Director of Sydney Water since November 1997 and Chairman since September 1998. Mrs Kibble has also holds the position of Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and is a member of the Audit and Risk Management, Customer Information and Billing, Public Health, Research and Development and Strategic Property Planning Committees. Mrs Kibble is also a Director of the following organisations: Australian Water Technologies Pty Ltd, AWT International Pty Ltd, Australian Commercial Disputes Centre Ltd, Sydney Olympic Park Authority, War Widows Guild of NSW and Questacon. At the University of Western Sydney Mrs Kibble is a Deputy Chancellor and Trustee, she is also a Fellow of the Royal Australian Planning Institute.
Contact Details
Office of the Commissioner
Telephone: +61 (02) 4428 4193
Facsimile +61 (02) 4428 4199
Postal Address: Locked Bag 3030 NOWRA NSW 2541

Inquiry Information Paper
  • Click here to view the Inquiry Information Paper

  • Inquiry Report
  • Inquiry Commissioner's Report

  • TEL (02) 4428 4193
    FAX (02) 4428 4199